Independent Director – Chairman of the Board

Mushtaq Oosman, born in 1954, is an independent Director of La Prudence Leasing Finance Co Ltd. He has worked for 30 years at PricewaterhouseCoopers Ltd and he became a Partner of PwC in July 1991. Primarily an Assurance Partner, he was also responsible for Business Recovery Services. He has served on the Governance Board of PwC Africa and was also responsible for the financial affairs of PwC in Mauritius.

He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales.


Executive Director

Clement Yue Chi Ming, born in 1966, has been appointed as Executive Director to the Board on 22nd June 2017. He holds a DipCRM from the Institute of Financial Services (UK) and a BSc (Hons) in Financial Services, UMIST (UK). He is an Associate member of the Institute of Bankers (ACIB) London, UK. He spent 30 years with Barclays Bank Mauritius Ltd, holding various roles in the branch network, Credit Risk, Recovery and Corporate & International Banking Division.

Independent Director (Mrs)

Christine Yeung Min John Chuan was appointed as an Independent Director to the Board on 3rd August 2020. She has worked with State Bank of Mauritius Ltd (SBM) since its inception in 1973 till July 2007. She was a Team Leader with SBM, managing a cluster of branches in Retail Banking and eventually a portfolio of Large customers in Corporate Banking. In August 2007, she joined Barclays Bank Mauritius Ltd (now ABSA Mauritius Ltd) and spent 12 years as Senior Corporate Manager in the Corporate & International Banking Division where she was responsible for managing and sustaining a portfolio of Large Corporate customers, both in private and public sectors. She graduated from the University of Surrey, U.K. and holds a Master in Business Administration.

Independent Director

Linda Mamet holds a BSc (1st class) degree in Biology and Applied Psychology from the University of Aston, UK and an MPhil and a PhD in Plant Genetics from the University of Cambridge, UK. She did scientific research at the Mauritius Sugarcane Industry Research Institute from 1986 to 1999. In 1999 she joined the Regional Training Centre (RTC) and she held the post of Managing Director from 2005 to 2019. Her most recent post was Interim CEO of the Mauritius Institute of Directors (MIoD). Linda is a Non-Executive Director of MIoD and an Independent Director of the Higher Education Commission (HEC). She sits on several sub-committees of MIoD and HEC.

She is a Fellow of the Mauritius Academy of Science and Technology and a Fellow of the Mauritius Institute of Directors.

Independent Director

A seasoned central banker with a career spanning over three decades at the Bank of Mauritius, with 25 years in the Bank of Mauritius Department of Economic Research, Analysis, and Statistics during which he held various senior positions.

Effective 30 December 2014, he was appointed Deputy Governor responsible for banking regulation and supervision, financial stability, legal, and corporate affairs.

Over his thirty-year career at the Central Bank of Mauritius, he has developed core competencies in the areas of economic analysis and research, economic and financial liberalisation, central bank statistics namely compilation of Balance of Payments and Monetary and Financial Statistics, banking regulation and supervision including bank licensing, resolution of failed banks, voluntary liquidation and risk-based supervision, foreign reserves management, financial markets, and corporate governance.

Non-Executive Director

Bruno de Froberville, born in 1962, is currently the general manager and owner of Square Lines Ltd, a property development company. Bruno has extensive knowledge in the construction sector. From July 1988 to June 1994, he was a manager at Building Art Ltd. From July 1994 to December 2004, he was the general manager and owner of B.E.A.M Ltd (a residential and industrial construction company). From 2005 to 2008, he worked at the property development arm of La Prudence (Mauricienne) Assurance Ltee. He also worked as marketing manager at Loom Art Ltd, a manufacturer of hand- made carpets. He was appointed to the board of directors of Mauritius Union Assurance Company Ltd in August 2010. Bruno De Froberville holds an MBA from the University of Birmingham and a Bachelor in Science with a major in Marketing from Louisiana State University.

Directorship in listed companies: Mauritius Union Assurance Company Ltd, Mauritius Freeport Development Group Ltd.


GALEA Dominique

Non-Executive Director

Mr Dominique Galea, born in 1952, holds a degree from HEC (Paris) H77. He started his career in the clothing industry by setting up a buying office for overseas buyers (Kasa Textile Ltd). He has since diversified his activities by acquiring controlling stakes in Ducray Lenoir Ltd in 1988, and in Rey & Lenferna Ltd in 1998. He was appointed to the Board of The Mauritius Union Assurance Cy. Ltd in 2010 and was elected Chairman. Mr Galea is the Chairman of United Docks Ltd, Rey & Lenferna Ltd and Forges Tardieu Ltd. He is also a Director of Ascencia Ltd.


Non-Executive Director

Johnny Leung Lam Hing, born in 1963, is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants. He started his career at Coopers & Lybrand (Mauritius) as an external auditor before joining MaxCity Group in 1996. He is currently the General Manager of MaxCity Asset Managers Ltd, one of the Companies of the Group, which operates in the property sector, specializing in rental of office space and retail shops.


MAUREL Philippe Olivier

Non-Executive Director

Mr Philippe Olivier Maurel has been a non-executive Director of La Prudence Leasing Finance Co Ltd since 30 June 2016. Born in 1982, he holds a BSc Marine Biology from James Cook University and a BSc in Land Surveying from Curtin University, Australia. He is a surveyor and director at Merestone Ltd where he works on a full-time basis. He is also a director of Coastal Hire Ltd and Multibox Ltd.